The Austrian Geography page of the SImilio channel Visions of Austria is the starting point for navigation based on the geographical organisation of Austria. Geographically, Austria is divided into 8 topographies or large landscapes. These topographies of Austria consist of 87 landscapes. The geography of Austria is mainly characterised by the Alps, whose centre in Austria is the High Alps in the west, which account for about 35% of the area of Austria. In order to select a topography of Austria and thus further immerse into the geographical organisation of Austria, users can select one of the topographies either directly on or below the map. Below the map users can use the slider to get to the map of the political organisation of Austria. On this map the 9 federal states of Austria can then be found.
Political Switch map view Geographical
Alpenostrand pictures


The Alpenostrand lies southeast of the High Alps and extends over parts of Carinthia, Styria and Burgenland. The topography forms the transition to the Pannonian Plain and is, according to its name, the eastern edge of the Alps.

Alpine foreland pictures

Alpine foreland

Like the foothills of the Alps, the foothills of the Alps are separated by the high Alps and are divided into the west and north of Vorarlberg and parts of Salzburg, Upper and Lower Austria. The Rhine, Lake Constance and the Salzach are of major importance from a topographical point of view.

High Alps pictures

High Alps

The High Alps are the largest topography in Austria in terms of area and extend from Vorarlberg to Styria. The characteristic feature of the topography is the name of the Alps, which are the highest mountains in Europe. The High Alps are the northern centre of the mountains with peaks of more than 1500 metres, which are considered to be the Eastern Alps.

Carinthian Basin pictures

Carinthian Basin

The Carinthian Basin is the smallest topography in Austria and is located in Carinthia. The topography is divided into the landscapes of the Western and Eastern Carinthian Basin and the Lower Lavant Valley with peripheral locations. Besides the agglomerations around Klagenfurt and Villach, the Carinthian lakes such as Lake Wörthersee are an essential feature of the Carinthian Basin.

N-E plains and hills pictures

N-E plains and hills

The north-eastern flat and hilly country is the easternmost topography of Austria and encompasses Vienna as a whole, making the north-eastern flat and hilly country the most populous topography in Austria, as well as parts of Lower Austria and Burgenland. The topography borders Slovakia in the northeast and Hungary in the southeast. In terms of landscape, it is characterised in particular by the Danube, the March and Lake Neusiedl.

S-E plains and hills pictures

S-E plains and hills

The southeastern flat and hilly country is the second smallest topography in Austria after the Carinthian Basin and lies in the southeast of Austria. The topography extends over the south of Styria and Burgenland. Due to the climatic conditions, the southeastern flat and hilly country is particularly characterised by viticulture and borders Slovenia to the south and Hungary to the east.

Pre-Alps pictures


The foothills of the Alps are a topography of Austria, separated by the High Alps and bordering them in the west and east. The topography is, according to its name, an area in front of the High Alps. It is characterised by a lower peak height and comprises the north of Vorarlberg as well as areas in Salzburg, Upper and Lower Austria. The easternmost landscape of this topography is the eastern Vienna Woods, whereby the topography extends to the borders of Vienna.

Forest and mill quarter pictures

Forest and mill quarter

The Wald- und Mühlviertel lies in the north of Austria and extends over parts of Upper and Lower Austria. The topography essentially comprises different locations of the Upper Austrian Mühlviertel and the Lower Austrian Waldviertel.